Skip to content

Weekend Recap

March 23, 2008

Though Friday wasn’t much of a beach day, cloudy and windy, it is always relaxing, so Matt and I went anyway. I was going to wear my brand new swimsuit from my favorite place microkitten.com (it’s the only place where I can buy miniscule bikinis which I can’t even do in Brazil), but I would have needed a Brazilian Wax so No. Too broke and not enough motivation. We situated ourselves by the shore, lit cigarettes, and began people watch. It was a good day for people watching on the beach. We were watching an Asian couple by the water, probably mid thirties, they might have been on their honeymoon. The man had set up a tripod, I repeat a tripod, on the sand and began taking pictures of his lady who was posing as a model.Now a LOT of people do this and I think it’s really funny. I don’t get it. I think it’s pretty embarrassing unless of course you are a model. But they weren’t the only ones, and we see a lot of this during spring Break. There was a group of 8 or so young black, very pretty girls doing the same thing. The ‘model’ laying on her stomach on the sand as the waves crash while the friend takes the picture. Probably for their MySpace profile. That wasn’t enough. Next they enlisted a police officer on his four-wheeler, by sitting on it, then asking him to take their group photo. This is all very comic to Matt and I. Bu it didn’t end there. They spotted these two Italian guys, laying next to us, and called them over for more pics. One of the guys didn’t speak any English, but his buddy was all for it. These girls were telling him how hot he was, and after many snapshots, they all wend and sat with the two guys for more flirting. This is all very comical to me, as I remember my 20s, but also very endearing to see. I love watching people have some good ol’ fun. While the afternoon was completely entertaining, Friday night totally blew. Matt and I arrived at Tantra around 11:30ish which is super early for SoBe but whatever. Dressed to the 9s, we went in and ordered our first round of cocktails. Matt, the Gin drinker, asked for Tanqueray & Soda (he used to drink it with Tonic, but Tonic is high in calories, whereas Club Soda is the least fattening soft drink) and I had Goose and Red Bull. I was told by the bartender that she would need to run my cc every time so I just told her to run 2 rounds. I get the check, look at it, and it says: 2 Grey Goose, 2 JW Black, $22 per round. When I asked her about the check, she told me that every cocktail is $11 each, not matter the liquor, and martinis are $15. Now a bottle of JW Black is about $45, whereas Tanqueray is only $25. If there is a next time, I’ll be ordering the most expensive liquor they have. Two rounds, $56. The place is so lame, I downed my first and within 10 minutes I asked for the second. We looked around, and the scene was the same as most snobbish places in SoBe. Everyone is looking around, checking out the meat, sluty girls in super short dresses pose for the event photographer, and the music was the worst. It wasn’t even Brazilian, not even Latin. We stayed 30 minutes total but that’s only because we went outside to smoke for 20 of those. This is my third and last time going there. Don’t even get me started on the food.  Saturday however was fun, fun, fun. We went to have lunch at Nexxt Cafe on Lincoln, my first time, and the food is amazing. I couldn’t believe the grandiose size of the plates, and reasonable prices. I ordered the Chicken Schnitzel which comes with mashed potatoes, asparagus, and a delicious creamy sauce. My dog had some too and she loved it 😉 Julie and Matt both ordered their gigantic salads, but once they tasted my dish, they began to hate theirs. (ps: never order a salad when what you really want is hearty, warm, and fattening food). As we were leaving it began to pour and at first we tried to get a cab, and after waiting 20 minutes we walked home in the rain. As a side note, I just love heavy rain and don’t mind at all getting soaked by it. It’s kind of fun! When we got home we showered and just vegged for the rest of the afternoon. Matt’s good friend Carrie was going to Macondo so we made plans to meet her there. We stopped by a new place, at least I haven’t seen it before, on the corner of 6th and Washington called Joe Cafe. Nice joint. We got a couple of chilled shots of tequila and met Carrie and her BF at the door. Macondo was awesome! It always is actually. The music is so tantalizing, everyone just dances all night long. Matt and I noticed these group of 3 guys in their mid fifties, hanging out watching the girls who didn’t pay any attention to them. It was kind of sad and funny at the same time. Sorry, at this point I’m on my second Tequila Sunrise. I was getting kind of horny so I texted my ex, and he said, “see you inside”. Now this man is not just an ex, he is hot as hell. Visually he has everything that really attracts and sends my body into a frenzy. Tall, about 6’1″, long, wavy, caramel color hair, slim, tattoos, big delicious full lips, hazel eyes. Hot damn. I get hot just thinking about him now. He arrived and we danced for hours, something we never did when we were dating. Matt left early because of his bullshit Spirit Airlines flight this morning. I left with my Argentine (who says Brazilians and Argentines don’t get along?!) and went to his place. I don’t have to spell it out what happens next but let’s just say it was great as always. At 8am this morning I made the ‘walk of shame’ back to my apartment, barefoot, because my beautiful shoes kill my feet. Yes I’m a fashion slave.He is on his way here now. The plans were to go out and get lunch but now it’s pouring, yet again, so we’ll have to find something else to do 😉 

No comments yet

Leave a comment