Skip to content

WMC Sunday – National Hotel – Gabriel & Dresden Turned It Up One Last Time

March 31, 2008

Don’t think I’m obsessed with Gabriel & Dresden or anything but I’ve got to tell you, I used to be a semi-fan of House music back in the day when I was 16 years old and going to the clubs like Limelight in New York City or the Ivy in Armonk, but these guys have spawned in me a new kind of love for House. For a long time, the only kind of House I got to hear was hard core trance or bullshit pop house, which really doesn’t strike my fancy. I like House that has smooth flowing liquid beats as well as lyrics, so it’s no wonder that G&D have hit a soft spot in my heart.

I had arrived a bit late for the beach because I was having a hard time motivating after the weekend I’ve had, so I only spent about 15 minutes there and it was time to get moving ahead to the party. A lot of the tourists had left by today and, though we waited about 30 minutes in line to get in, and the place wasn’t as packed as last night, it only made it better because there was more room to dance and the only people left were pretty much locals or true hard core fans.

We missed Austin Leeds, but caught Dirty South mid set. They were pretty good but not good enough to cause my feet to start moving and instead got “bobbing back and forth” while I got my drink on and made new friends. Shortly afterwards Kaskade came on and turn it up a notch, and now I’m digging it. I got a tab at the bar with a cute bartender who knows I’m friends with one of his buddies, so I’m definitely getting hooked up tonight. I’m hanging out but mostly walking around taking pictures of the crowd and of the venue. By now I’m on my second Snow Queen (a new deliciously dry and crisp vodka made in, well Kazakhstan..”I Liiike” and I’m ready for a J when Chris Lake came on. I really should have rolled two.

So I’m looking around, checking out the peeps, and I see this gorgeous brunette dancing in her black bathing suit, barefoot, and a cute white polka-dot hairband. But she is not the kind I’d make fun of. This girl is hot. I couldn’t keep my eyes off her. So I decided to walk over and take a picture. I figured it’d be better if I asked for the pic that way she wouldn’t be weirded out thinking I’m some kind of freak. She asked me, “what is it for?” and I said, “You’re hot..it’s for me” and smiled. She says “sure!” so I tell her not to pose but just to continue dancing. She didn’t hesitate and I got a sweet, natural pic of this dark horse beauty. She then asked me if I lived here and we got to talking. We’re the same age, hot brunettes, and independent. She used to live in SoBe but said she needed to leave because of too much partying. I laughed. She introduced me to her friends, got one of them to take a picture of us, and said she’d be at Mansion tonight for Bob Sinclair (I can’t stand Mansion). I smiled and told her my friends and I weren’t yet sure where we are going tonight, so she asked me for my number. I gave it to her. Then I kissed her on the cheek, said good-bye and went back to my friends. Hmm. Maybe I’ll go girl tonight. She is hoh-ot!.

By the time I got back, it was only 15 minutes until Gabriel & Dresden were on. Now I’m pumped. Back to the bar..need round 3. Big applause for the ending DJ and even bigger when G&D came on. Everyone was screaming, energy levels went up. It was almost as if everyone had just taken a huge line of coke. This Asian kid in a red shirt was jumping the highest, enough that we could see him from 4 rows back. I had to get a pic. He must have been in his 10th pill of E and was at the end of his life, at least he looked like he was. The set began and from the moment of the first sound, none of us could stop dancing. I’m in love. I’m buying the music. I have been converted. Don’t get me wrong, the other DJs were good, but NOTHING compared to these guys. Not even fucking close. I’ve said it before and I’m going to say it again. The sheer emotion these guys bring to the core of your soul is unbelievable. I never thought House music could make such an impact (I mean, I know they are a lot of people who dig the shit), but I couldn’t believe it brought it in me. I’m usually into the Latin tunes, who speak a lot about love and heart break in such a passionate, hot latino, sexy way; or I dig music like Nina Simone, Etta James, Bob Marley, and DMB. You know, heart-felt, chill out music. And to Gabriel & Dresden, if you ever get to read this, “Thank you. Thank you for the amazing weekend of incredible, high energy, lively, sweeeeet music”.

I’m really sad it’s now over. Winter Music Conference truly rocked this year. I know some of you went to the wrong parties and had a shitty time. That sucks. But at least now you know where to go next year.

This party girl needs a well deserved break. Thing is, my crazy New York friends are here until Tuesday and my phone is already ringing with texts with the plans for tonight. Shower time. One more time.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Paul permalink
    April 2, 2008 8:06 pm

    Hey there, I have no idea who you are… but you rock. I can almost guarntee you that you and I bumped shoulders at LEAST twice on either Sunday (probable) or even on Fri at Pawn Shop. It makes me smile the things you wrote about G&D… heartfelt. I went look for data, hoping to collect the “last” set from thier set at Remix on Sunday evening. What an enchanting experience… sun going down, odd cool wind drifts (especially during as the rush comes) but a saddened feeling at the same time, knowing this will be the last time I see them spin for a while. ok, Im rambling…. I just wanted to know I stumbled across your little entry and…. I likes! 😀 Email if you wish P.S. You’re right, you should have rolled! 😉

  2. May 26, 2008 10:04 am

    hey…

    i just wanted you to know that i love gabriel and dresden. im in cape town at the moment. well, actually i live here. im a student. and i read ur entry and i fell you:)

  3. May 26, 2008 10:05 am

    oops i mean feel.. yeah.. i feel you. like the tiesto song? do you feel me? yip. i certainly do feel you:) hehehe

  4. June 11, 2008 11:07 pm

    Hey B & D!

    You were one of the first people to comment on my blog! I wanted to thank you for that and to let you know I have moved my blog to http://www.bluemoonovermiami.blogspot.com

Leave a comment